Jugendfest der Kulturen

Jugendfest der Kulturen
[Youth festival of cultures]

© ZunkunftsRegion Westpfalz e.V.

On 15 July 2015, there was a youth day of action on cultural diversity in Kaiserslautern  with the motto "Respect rocks!" For the third time, the Bezirksverband Pfalz [Palatinate District Association] organised this celebration of cultural diversity for young people 14 to 18 years of age, in which around 5,000 youth participated.

At the forefront of the closing event in Fritz-Walter-Stadion [Fritz Walter Stadium], there were competitions in the areas of art, literature and music. The event nods to the Palatinate's historical roots as an area for immigration and emigration and, through meeting various cultures, should help to overcome prejudices and emphasise the importance of tolerance and respect for "the others" from abroad.

The youth festival took up a topic that could not be more important with regard to the current discussion of skilled workers from abroad, the intake of refugees and the treatment of Islam in Germany. ZRW supported the event as a sponsor and in doing so, contributed to tolerance and international openness in the region.

Project partner: Bezirksverband Pfalz

Jugendfest der Kulturen

Jugendfest der Kulturen

© ZunkunftsRegion Westpfalz e.V.

Am 15. Juli 2015 fand in Kaiserslautern unter dem Motto "Respekt Rockt!" ein Jugendaktionstag zum Thema kulturelle Vielfalt statt. Der Bezirksverband Pfalz organisierte zum dritten Mal dieses Begegnungsfest für junge Menschen im Alter von 14 bis 18 Jahren, an dem rund 5.000 Jugendliche teilnahmen.

Im Vorfeld der Abschlussveranstaltung im Fritz-Walter-Stadion fanden Wettwerbe in den Bereichen Kunst, Literatur und Musik statt. Die Veranstaltung nahm Bezug zu den historischen Wurzeln der Pfalz als Aus- und Einwanderungsland und sollte durch die Begegnung mit verschiedenen Kulturen Vorurteile abbauen und die Bedeutung von Toleranz und Respekt gegenüber dem Anderen, Fremden herausstellen.

Das Jugendfest griff damit ein Thema auf, dass angesichts aktueller Diskussionen über die Anwerbung ausländischer Fachkräfte, die Aufnahme von Flüchtlingen und den Umgang mit dem Islam in Deutschland kaum wichtiger sein könnte.  Die ZRW unterstützte daher die Veranstaltung als Sponsor und leistet damit einen Beitrag zur Toleranz und Weltoffenheit in der Region.

Projektpartner: Bezirksverband Pfalz